18 Sep 2019

Man of Steel Shortlist

Five players are in contention to win the 2019 Man of Steel award.

They are:

1. Blake Austin (Warrington Wolves)

2. Lachlan Coote (St Helens)

3. Jackson Hastings (Salford Red Devils)

4. Liam Watts (Castleford Tigers)

5. George Williams (Wigan Warriors)

The winner will be announced at the Betfred Super League Awards at the Lowry Theatre, Salford Quays, on October 6.

A panel of expert judges, led by Ellery Hanley MBE, have been awarding points to the top three performers in every Betfred Super League game this season.

When voting ‘went dark’ after round 22 – i.e when scores for individual performances stopped being published – Austin and Hastings were tied for the lead.

But strong displays from a number of players in the closing stages of the season has left a stellar list of names in the hunt for the sport’s biggest individual accolade. 

Hanley, the only player to win three Man of Steel awards, said: “The panellists have been lucky to have witnessed first-hand some exceptional performances this season.

“I have often watched games back before awarding points at the matches I’ve been judging and that has helped me appreciate even more the range of skill and determination of so many players.

“The five guys in contention have been pivotal to their team’s success this season and for that they deserve recognition.

“But only one person can win and we look forward to finding out who that is at the Super League Awards next month.”

Book your tickets to the Betfred Super League Awards on October 6 via the clubs.

The new format will be a 90-minute cinematic presentation, built around content from the Leeds-based filmmakers The City Talking, whose recent work includes the Amazon Prime documentary Take Us Home: Leeds United.

It will recognise the most outstanding performances of the season and there will also be a focus on the important work being done by our clubs, fans and volunteers in the community and disability game. 

The event will end with the announcement of the Steve Prescott MBE Man of Steel for 2019.