8 Oct 2020

Preview: Round 15

Thursday 8 October

Huddersfield Giants v Salford Red Devils (17:30) - Sky Sports Mix

Lee Gaskell returns to the Huddersfield Giants squad for their clash with Salford Red Devils. 

Gaskell, who broke him thumb back in August, replaces Jordan Turner in Giants' 21-man squad. 

Luke Robinson could hand a debut to Brandon Moore as he looks to maintain his unbeaten record as Giants interim head coach.

Fresh from their Challenge Cup exploits, Red Devils welcome Luke Yates back from a one-match suspension. 

Ian Watson also brings Andy Ackers and Olly Ashall-Bott into his squad. 

Kevin Brown and Sebastine Ikahihifo drop out. 

Huddersfield Giants: Ashton Golding, Jermaine McGillvary, Jake Wardle, Darnell McIntosh, Lee Gaskell, Aidan Sezer, James Gavet, Suaia Matagi, Kenny Edwards, Joe Wardle, Michael Lawrence, Leroy Cudjoe, Tom Holmes, Oliver Russell, Louis Senior, Sam Hewitt, Sam Wood, Owen Trout, Dominic Young, Chris McQueen, Brandon Moore.

Salford Red Devils: Kris Welham, Dan Sarginson, Krisnan Inu, Tui Lolohea, Lee Mossop, Joey Lussick, Gil Dudson, Ryan Lannon, Pauli Pauli, Tyrone McCarthy, Greg Burke, Luke Yates, Chris Atkin, Mark Flanagan, James Greenwood, Rhys Williams, Elliot Kear, Jack Ormondroyd, Andy Ackers, Kallum Watkins, Olly Ashall-Bott.

Referee: R. Hicks

Leeds Rhinos v Hull FC (19:45) - Sky Sports Mix

After three positive Covid-19 tests at Castleford Tigers, which led to six further players being stood down under track and trace protocols, Hull FC will now take on Leeds Rhinos on Thursday night.

Hull FC were not due to play this week – but as with all Super League clubs in that position, they had been asked to remain on standby in case of an outbreak at another club. 

Andy Last is only able to name 19 players for the match, instead of the usual 21-man squad. 

There are two potential debutants named in the 19-man squad, which includes eight local academy graduates.

Rhinos make two changes from their Challenge Cup semi-final win over Wigan Warriors.

Bodene Thompson (cup tied) and Cameron Smith (broken jaw) are both included by Richard Agar. 

Alex Mellor and Callum McLelland miss out. 

Leeds Rhinos: Jack Walker, Tom Briscoe, Konrad Hurrell, Ash Handley, Rob Lui, Luke Gale, Ava Seumanufagai, Kruise Leeming, Matt Prior, Rhyse Martin, Brad Dwyer, Liam Sutcliffe, Richie Myler, Adam Cuthbertson, Mikolaj Oledzki, Bodene Thompson, Cameron Smith, Luke Briscoe, James Donaldson, Alex Sutcliffe, Tom Holroyd. 

Hull FC: Bureta Faraimo, Carlos Tuimavave, Josh Griffin, Jake Connor, Marc Sneyd, Chris Satae, Ligi Sao, Jordan Johnstone, Brad Fash, Josh Bowden, Andre Savelio, Mahe Fonua, Connor Wynne, Lewis Bienek, Jack Brown, Cameron Scott, Charlie Patterson-Lund, Ben McNamara, Jude Ferreira.

Referee: B. Thaler

Friday 9 October 

Wakefield Trinity v St Helens (17:30) - Sky Sports Mix

Wakefield Trinity and St Helens meet in back-to-back matches starting with a contest at Emerald Headingley on Friday.

The two sides also clash next Thursday and have enjoyed contrasting fortunes since lockdown. 

Saints are yet to lose in Super League since restart while Trinity have not yet won.

Saints bring Tommy Makinson back into their squad. 

The winger, who has served his five-match ban, replaces Matty Costello in the only change Kristian Woolf has made from the win over Warriors.

Trinity named a 21-man squad on Wednesday, but it could look vastly different to the side selected on Friday night. 

The club had one positive Covid-19 test in the most recent round of testing, which meant they had to stand eight players down and have just 17 available for Friday's match. 

Wakefield Trinity: Alex Walker, Tom Johnstone, Reece Lyne, Ben Jones-Bishop, Jacob Miller, David Fifita, Kyle Wood, Tinirau Arona, Matty Ashurst, Jay Pitts, Craig Kopczak, James Batchelor, Adam Tangata, Jordy Crowther, Max Jowitt, Jack Croft, Brad Walker, Ryan Hampshire, Kelepi Tanginoa, Innes Senior, Eddie Battye.

St Helens: Lachlan Coote, Tommy Makinson, Kevin Naiqama, Regan Grace, Jonny Lomax, Theo Fages, Alex Walmsley, James Roby, Zeb Taia, Dom Peyroux, Louis McCarthy-Scarsbrook, Morgan Knowles, Matty Lees, Kyle Amor, Aaron Smith, James Bentley, Jack Welsby, Joe Batchelor, Josh Simm, Lewis Dodd, James Graham.

Referee: L. Moore

Catalans Dragons v Hull Kingston Rovers (18:15 UK time) - Our League for season ticket holders

Catalans Dragons go in search of a third Super League win on the bounce when Hull KR make the trip to Perpignan on Friday.

At the moment, Dragons are the only side able to host fans in their home stadium, with 5,000 supporters allowed inside the Stade Gilbert Brutus.

They saw their side beat Wakefield Trinity 40-8 last Sunday. 

Steve McNamara makes two changes to Dragons' squad from that win - Alrix Da Costa and Paul Seguier are named in place of Matt Whitley and Arthur Romano.

Rovers could had debuts to Rowan Milnes and George King. 

Catalans Dragons: David Mead, Samisoni Langi, Israel Folau, Fouad Yaha, James Maloney, Rémi Casty, Micky Mcilorum, Sam Moa, Joel Tomkins, Benjamin Garcia, Julian Bousquet, Tom Davies, Benjamin Jullien, Alrix Da Costa, Mickael Goudemand, Paul Seguier, Jason Baitieri, Arthur Mourgue, Sam Kasiano, Sam Tomkins.

Hull Kingston Rovers: Ben Crooks, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Kane Linnett, Jordan Abdull, Matt Parcell, Weller Hauraki, Harvey Livett, Mitch Garbutt, George Lawler, Kyle Trout, Mikey Lewis, Owen Harrison, Nick Rawsthorne, Matty Gee, Will Maher, Matty Storton, Jamie Ellis, Nathaniel Peteru, Will Tate, Rowan Milnes, George King.

Referee: J. Smith

Warrington Wolves v Wigan Warriors (19:45) - Sky Sports Mix 

Warrington Wolves and Wigan Warriors meet for the first time since the opening day of the season on Friday night.

The victor will take a significant step towards qualification for the Super League play-offs. 

Wolves make three changes from their previous outing - Sitaleki Akauola, Keanan Brand and Luis Johnson come in for Ben Murdoch-Masila, Josh Thewlis and Danny Walker.

New signing Brad Singleton features in Warriors' squad for the first time since his arrival in September and could make his debut.

Morgan Smithies is back in contention after serving a six-match suspension.

Warrington Wolves: Sitaleki Akauola, Matty Ashton, Blake Austin, Keanan Brand, Josh Charnley, Daryl Clark, Jason Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie, Matt Davis, Anthony Gelling, Chris Hill, Jack Hughes, Luis Johnson, Toby King, Jake Mamo, Declan Patton, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Ellis Robson, Gareth Widdop.

Wigan Warriors: Zak Hardaker, Bevan French, Tommy Leuluai, Sam Powell, Willie Isa, Liam Farrell, Sean O’Loughlin, Joe Greenwood, Morgan Smithies, Oliver Partington, Joe Bullock, Dom Manfredi, Jake Bibby, Harry Smith, Jackson Hastings,  Amir Bourouh, Joe Shorrocks, Sam Halsall, James McDonnell, Harry Rushton, Brad Singleton.

Referee: C. Kendall