Round 9 preview

17 Apr 2022

Round 9 preview

The Easter action continues in Betfred Super League with six games on Easter Monday and two live on Sky Sports!

Monday 18 April

Castleford Tigers v Leeds Rhinos (15.00) - Sky Sports Arena

Lee Radford makes three changes to his Tigers squad following their Rivals Round win against Wakefield.

Cheyse Blair, Brad Martin, and Jason Qareqare join the 21-man squad whilst Alex Sutcliffe, Greg Eden, and Jack Sadler drop out.

Rhinos full-back Jack Walker misses out in Round 9 after picking up a hamstring injury during Leeds' draw with Huddersfield on Thursday. Liam Tindall has also been ruled out with a hip problem. 17-year-old pair Max Simpson and Jack Sinfield come into the squad.

Castleford Tigers: Niall Evalds, Derrell Olpherts, Jake Mamo, Jake Trueman, Liam Watts, Paul McShane, Kenny Edwards, Adam Milner, Joe Westerman, Nathan Massey, George Griffin, Mahe Fonua, Tyla Hepi, James Clare, Daniel Smith, Cheyse Blair, Suaia Matagi, Brad Martin, Sam Hall, Gareth O’Brien, Jason Qareqare.

Leeds Rhinos: Liam Sutcliffe, Ash Handley, Blake Austin, Mikolaj Oledzki, Kruise Leeming, Matt Prior, James Bentley, Rhyse Martin, Zane Tetevano, Brad Dwyer, Alex Mellor, Cameron Smith, Bodene Thompson, Tom Briscoe, Morgan Gannon, Jack Broadbent, Jarrod O'Connor, James Donaldson, Muizz Mustapha, Max Simpson, Jack Sinfield.

Castleford Tigers and Leeds Rhinos will meet again in Newcastle at the 2022 Magic Weekend. Be the difference and bring the noise at St James' Park by purchasing tickets here.

Huddersfield Giants v St Helens (15.00) - John Smith's Stadium

Huddersfield are without Chris McQueen, Theo Fages, Matty English and Owen Trout in Round 9. Sam Hewitt, Jack Ashworth, Nathan Mason and Innes Senior come into the 21-man squad.

St Helens will be without Morgan Knowles and Lewis Dodd for their Easter Monday trip to the Giants after the pair picked up injuries during their Good Friday win against Wigan. Will Hopoate also drops out of the 21-man squad.

They have been replaced by Kyle Amor, Josh Simm and Curtis Sironen, who has completed a one-match suspension picked up against Catalans in the Challenge Cup.

Huddersfield Giants: Jermaine McGillvary, Ricky Leutele, Ashton Golding, Tui Lolohea, Chris Hill, Daniel Levi, Michael Lawrence, Josh Jones, Luke Yates, Joe Greenwood, Jack Cogger, Adam O’Brien, Oliver Wilson, Leroy Cudjoe, Louis Senior, Oliver Russell, Oliver Roberts, Innes Senior, Nathan Mason, Jack Ashworth, Sam Hewitt.

St Helens: Jack Welsby, Tommy Makinson, Mark Percival, Jonny Lomax, Alex Walmsley, James Roby, Matty Lees, Joe Batchelor, Joey Lussick, LMS, Curtis Sironen, Agnatius Paasi, Kyle Amor, Jake Wingfield, James Bell, Josh Simm, Ben Davies, Konrad Hurrell, Dan Norman, Sam Royle, Jon Bennison.

Salford Red Devils v Catalans Dragons (15.00) - AJ Bell Stadium

Kallum Watkins could make his first appearance of 2022 after the experienced centre was included in the Red Devils' 21-man squad. Amir Bourouh has also been brought in.

Mike McMeeken is unavailable for the Dragons after dislocating a bone in his wrist against Toulouse on Thursday. Gil Dudson takes his place in the 21-man squad.

Salford Red Devils: Ryan Brierley, Ken Sio, Kallum Watkins, Brodie Croft, Marc Sneyd, Sitaleki Akauola, Andy Ackers, Greg Burke, Elijah Taylor, Danny Addy, King Vuniyayawa, Ryan Lannon, Chris Atkin, Jack Ormonroyd, Josh Johnson, Rhys Williams, Matt Costello, Morgan Escare, Sam Luckley, Amir Bourouh, Deon Cross.

Catalans Dragons: Arthur Mourgue, Tom Davies, Fouad Yaha, Mitchell Pearce, Josh Drinkwater, Gil Dudson, Michael McIlorum, Matt Whitley, Ben Garcia, Paul Seguier, Mickael Goudemand, Matthieu Laguerre, Arthur Romano, Tyrone May, Dylan Napa, Jordan Dezaria, Cesar Rouge, Joe Chan, Sam Kasiano.

Wigan Warriors v Wakefield Trinity (15.00) - DW Stadium

Matt Peet makes one change to his Wigan squad following Friday's defeat at St Helens. Tommy Leuluai drops out of the squad after picking up an injury in Round 8 - he is replaced by Kaide Ellis following the completion of his five match suspension.

Trinity make five changes to their squad following their Rivals Round defeat to Cas. Tom Johnstone, Liam Hood, Jordy Crowther, Jai Whitbread and David Fifita all drop out.

They have been replaced by the returning Jacob Miller, James Batchelor, Sam Eseh, Isaac Shaw and Thomas Minns.

Wigan Warriors: Bevan French, Jake Bibby, Cade Cust, Brad Singleton, Sam Powell, Patrick Mago, Willie Isa, Liam Farrell, John Bateman, Morgan Smithies, Kaide Ellis, Harry Smith, Oliver Partington, Ethan Havard, Liam Byrne, Joe Shorrocks, Jai Field, Abbas Miski, Sam Halsall, James McDonnell, Brad O'Neill.

Wakefield Trinity: Max Jowitt, Reece Lyne, Jacob Miller, Mason Lino, Eddie Battye, Tinirau Arona, Matty Ashurst, Kelepi Tanginoa, Jay Pitts, James Batchelor, Lee Gaskell, Liam Kay, Brad Walker, Yusuf Aydin, Sid Adebiyi, Harry Bowes, Sam Eseh, Lewis Murphy, Isaac Shaw, Corey Hall, Thomas Minns.

Toulouse Olympique v Hull KR (15.00 UK) - Stade Ernest Wallon

Andrew Dixon is back in contention for Toulouse after returning to the 21-man squad. James Cunningham is again available despite missing Le Derby last Thursday, but Lloyd White drops out. 

Lachlan Coote and Frankie Halton drop out of the Robins squad ahead of Monday's trip to Toulouse. They are replaced by Brad Takairangi and Phoenix Laulu-Togaga'e.

Toulouse Olympique: Junior Vaivai, Paul Marcon, Lucas Albert, Romain Navarrete, Harrison Hansen, Andrew Dixon, Anthony Marion, Eloi Pelissier, Maxime Puech, Mitch Garbutt, James Cunningham, Ilias Bergal, Chris Hankinson, Gadwin Springer, Justin Sangare, Guy Armitage, Matty Russell, Hugo Pezet, Olly Ashall-Bott, Maxime Stefani, Tony Gigot.

Hull KR: Ben Crooks, Brad Takairangi, Shaun Kenny-Dowall, Ryan Hall, Jordan Abdull, Matt Parcell, George King, Dean Hadley, Kane Linnett, Matty Storton, Jez Litten, Korbin Sims, Elliot Minchella, Jimmy Keinhorst, Will Dagger, Rowan Milnes, Will Maher, Ethan Ryan, Sam Wood, Greg Richards, Phoenix Laulu-Togaga'e. 

Hull FC v Warrington Wolves (17.30) - Sky Sports Arena

The Black & Whites make three changes to their squad following a derby day defeat on Friday. Andre Savelio, Josh Griffin and Ben McNamara all drop out.

The trio are replaced by Jamie Shaul, Connor Wynne and youngster Aidan Burrell.

Daryl Powell has made just one change to his 21-man squad ahead of Monday's trip to Hull. Half-back George Williams is back in contention after recovering from injury he comes in to replace Matt Davis.

Hull FC: Jake Connor, Adam Swift, Carlos Tuimavave, Darnell McIntosh, Josh Reynolds, Luke Gale, Ligi Sao, Danny Houghton, Chris Satae, Manu Ma’u, Jordan Lane, Joe Lovodua, Kane Evans, Brad Fash, Jack Brown, Jordan Johnstone, Josh Bowden, Mitieli Vulikijapani, Connor Wynne, Aidan Burrell, Jamie Shaul.

Warrington Wolves: Matty Ashton, Joe Bullock, Josh Charnley, Daryl Clark, Jason Clark, Mike Cooper, Ben Currie, Riley Dean, Jack Hughes, Toby King, Ellis Longstaff, Billy Magoulias, Peter Mata’utia, Robbie Mulhern, Joe Philbin, Stefan Ratchford, Ellis Robson, Josh Thewlis, Danny Walker, Gareth Widdop, George Williams.